Luxor, 1960-2010

2 April until 18 September 2014

The Colossi of Memnon on the west bank of the Nile. Because of the Aswan Dam, built in the 1960s, the statues are no longer by the water.The Colossi of Memnon on the west bank of the Nile. Because of the Aswan Dam, built in the 1960s, the statues are no longer by the water.
Painting in the Theban tomb TT52, burial place of Nakht. He was an official during the reign of Pharaoh Thutmose IV.Painting in the Theban tomb TT52, burial place of Nakht. He was an official during the reign of Pharaoh Thutmose IV.

Luxor, 1960-2010 is a display of photographs taken in and around Luxor by the Egyptologist Robert J. Demarée between 1960 and 2010. The photographs are on show behind the Egyptian temple in the Tempelzaal (the museum’s entrance hall).

< Click on the photographs for enlarged versions. Click on the arrows to move between photos.

Luxor in the 1960s

Since the 1960s, Demarée has visited Luxor regularly. When he first went to Luxor, the ancient city of Thebes, the monuments and remains there were in better condition than they are today. Furthermore, there were far fewer tourists, and visitors were still allowed to take photos wherever they liked. As a result, Demarée returned with a unique collection of slides of the tombs and temples on the west bank at Luxor, documenting things that are no longer visible today.

Dr Robert J. Demarée, Egyptologist and photographer

Dr Robert J. Demarée is an Egyptologist, a publisher, and a former staff member at the National Museum of Antiquities (from 1958 to 1962). Since 1984, he has been a visiting scholar at the University of Leiden Egyptology programme. Demarée regularly publishes articles on the hieratic writing system. He is a world expert on the history of the ancient Egyptian village of Deir el-Medina, near Luxor.